AS FIVE members of the national parliament left their seats for the European Parliament, five new MPs were sworn in on July 1 to replace them.

The new MPs were next in line on their respective party's candidate lists in the 2012 elections, and as such automatically replace the departing MPs.

Jana Žitňanská who was elected as an MEP on the slate of the NOVA movement, even though she was originally affiliated with the Christian Democratic Movement (KDH), was replaced by Jozef Bobík from the KDH slate.

Peter Voros, who served as an MP for Most-Híd in the previous term, is to take over as MP again after former environment minister József Nagy (2010-12) was elected as MEP.

Former Freedom and Solidarity (SaS) general manager Jana Kissová is now the party’s new MP after replacing party chairman and newly-elected MEP Richard Sulík.

Head of the ‘Help for Victims of Violence’ non-profit organisation Jana Šipošová of OĽaNO is entering parliament to replace new MEP Branislav Škripek.

After the Slovak Democratic and Christian Union (SDKÚ) party’s Ivan Štefanec was elected as an MEP, former education minister (2010-12) Eugen Jurzyca replaced him.

Source: TASR

Compiled by Michaela Terenzani from press reports.
The Slovak Spectator cannot vouch for the accuracy of the information
presented in its Flash News postings.