Spectator on facebook

Spectator on facebook

Prodi: We’ll take 10

European Commission head Romano Prodi said yesterday that the EC would likely recommend the EU accept 10 new members, although final individual evaluations for each candidate country will come October 16.

The countries at this point include Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Cyprus.

Compiled by Tom Nicholson from press reports.
The Slovak Spectator cannot vouch for the accuracy of the information presented in its Flash News postings.

Top stories

The Bratislava airport has competition in Vienna

The airport in Vienna, only about 60 kilometres from the Slovak capital, gains 17 new low-cost airliner flights.

Illustrative stock photo

Surcharges for night, weekend and holiday work will go up in two phases

Social partners agree upon a compromise solution.

Royal chocolate made by Slovak Photo

Some of the chocolate art pieces are decorated with gold or silver.

Giving a voice to those unheard

The Sme daily celebrates 25 years since its founding. It is of immense importance that it remains independent and free, writes its editor-in-chief.