photo: Courtesy of Správa cestovného ruchu Senec
Although just one body of water, the lake is called the Sunny Lakes (Slnečné jazerá) because it gives the impression of being several separate pools. It was created in 1845, and attracts a million tourists each summer.
Every year - this year on June 14 - a traditional ceremony on the south of the lake opens the summer season, featuring popular bands and one of the best fireworks displays in the country. Among many other events held in Senec is an annual carnival, scheduled to take place on June 27 this year.
In addition to these festivities, the lake offers many opportunities for sports enthusiasts, boasting water slides, tennis courts, and facilities for water skiing. There's also a campsite on the north side of the lake.
Away from the water, the charming town centre has recently been pedestrianised, and in the summer café tables spill out onto the sidewalks, making it a pleasant place for a leisurely drink.
The oldest monument in the town is St Nicholas the Bishop's Church, built in the 17th century. Other places of interest include the Holy Trinity Chapel, the Turkish House (now a restaurant), the Jewish Synagogue, and the Immaculata, a statue of the Virgin Mary in the centre of town.
Senec was once known as an educational centre, thanks to the Collegium Oeconomicum University, founded by the Habsburg empress Maria Teresa in 1763 and one of the first universities in Slovakia. The building burned down in 1776.
16. Jun 2003 at 0:00