Spectator on facebook

Spectator on facebook

Enlargement of European Economic Area hits a snag

Liechtenstein on Tuesday blocked the signing of an agreement on the enlargement of the European Economic Area (EEA) due to a longstanding property dispute with the countries of the former Czechoslovakia, news wire TASR reported.

The dispute could delay enlargement of the EEA to include the ten countries acceding to the European Union, a process that requires ratification by all EEA member countries.

Slovakia, one of the future EU members, is earmarked for an annual membership payment of €14 million to the EEA.

Enlargement of the EEA, formed by the 15 current members of the EU, plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, is due to coincide with the EU enlargement planned for May 1, 2004.

The principality of Liechtenstein is claiming compensation for property the Liechtenstein family owned in Moravia (Czech Republic) in the 20th century, and which was confiscated after both world wars.

All 25 current and future EU members, including Slovakia, have signed the deal on EEA enlargement. Liechtenstein's decision was joined by Norway and Iceland on the principle of solidarity.

Compiled by Beata Balogová from press reports
The Slovak Spectator cannot vouch for the accuracy of the information presented in its Flash News postings.

Top stories

Coalition only agrees on how to talk. But what will they talk about?

Budget talks to decide on concrete policies. Danko wants airplanes, Fico wants better pay for nights and weekends.

Danko, Fico, Bugar.

Cloud computing becomes a standard

External servers are now much more secure than local business ones, according to experts.

Slovak firms have their eyes on the cloud.

Slovaks drink less and less

Behind the decline in alcohol consumption is, for example, the abandoning of the habit of drinking at work – typical especially during communism, according to an expert.

Kiska: Even Europe has its aggressive neighbour

President Andrej Kiska addressed UN commenting poverty, instability and climate change.

President Andrej Kiska