Liechtenstein to sign European Economic Area enlargement

Liechtenstein will sign the agreement on enlarging the European Economic Area (EEA) by ten new countries, including Slovakia, before settling bilateral arguments with Prague and Bratislava, news wire TASR wrote.

Under the agreement, the ten countries due to join the European Union on May 1 should join the EEA at the same time.

In mid-October, Liechtenstein refused to sign the agreement on EEA enlargement due to its historical property claims in the former Czechoslovakia. Norway and Iceland, who, along with Liechtenstein, are the only non-EU members of the EEA, supported the delay on the solidarity principle.

Liechtenstein claims property in Moravia, in the Czech Republic, that was confiscated after WWI and WWII. In the background of the dispute is the fact the Czechoslovakia did not recognise Liechtenstein as an independent state.

Compiled by Beata Balogová from press reports
The Slovak Spectator cannot vouch for the accuracy of the information presented in its Flash News postings.

Top stories

Bratislava Mayor Matúš Vallo speaks to foreigners at [fjúžn] festival's "Ask the Mayor" event.

Foreigner’s community has a big voice, but it needs to be more organised

Bratislava Mayor Matúš Vallo addressed the questions and concerns of foreigners in Bratislava during a special Q&A.

21 h
Reconstruction work on the Monument of Liberation and Victory, unveiled in 1955 in the Dargov mountain pass, which commemorates the liberation of eastern Slovakia from Nazism.

Unusual mousetrap and Dubček's glasses: Slovakia treasures on display in America

Look through event tips, set out on an easy hike and read short culture stories.

4 h
No single list of foreigners who are entitled to vote in Slovakia exists.

It is a simple question. How many foreigners vote in Slovakia?

The million-dollar question the state and towns can hardly answer.

2 h
Bratislava, Main Square

Inhabitants of Bratislava should not see curfew or ban on travelling. Capital reaches vaccination milestone

In the current regional Covid automat system, Bratislava should not be worse than the red tier.

21 h
Skryť Close ad