Spectator on facebook

Spectator on facebook


New MEPs to be sworn in soon

NEW LEGISLATORS will replace the seven MEPs who are representing Slovakia in the European Parliament during a session called for August 24.

Seven of the 14 Slovaks who were elected as MEPs in the European election in June were MPs of the national parliament - Milan Gaľa from the Slovak Democratic and Christian Union, Irena Belohorská and Sergej Kozlík from the Movement for a Democratic Slovakia, Monika Beňová from Smer, Anna Záborská from the Christian Democratic Movement, and Edit Bauer and Arpád Duka-Zolyomi from the Hungarian Coalition Party (SMK).

The respective political parties nominated the replacements, the state-run news agency TASR reported.

Instead of Gaľa, Jaroslav Ivančo, the principal at an economic high school in Svidník, will take the seat; Katarína Tóthová and Ján Cuper will replace Belohorská and Kozlík; Smer's regional chairman in Nitra, Peter Oremus, will replace Beňová; physician Ján Bielik from Nové Mesto nad Váhom will take Záborská's seat; and the deputy minister of culture, József Kvarda, and university teacher Gyorgy Juhász will replace SMK's Bauer and Duka-Zólyomi.

Top stories

Bratislava has already forgotten the Pressburg ghost

The burnt prints of the penitential reeve’s right hand made Bratislava famous over almost all Europe. Now the story has been almost completely forgotten.

The wooden box with burnt prints.

Product quality laid on the EU table

Concerns over the different quality of same brand products are confirmed, but will anything change soon?

Will shopping in supermarkets soon become a thing of the past?

Everton beats Ružomberok Video

But the victory was narrow.

Peter Maslo (front) and Davy Klaassen (back)

Foreigners: Events in Bratislava Video

Tips for performances and other events in the capital between July 28 and August 6, including concerts, parties, festivals, classical music, inline skating, exhibitions and more.

Folk Painting Vajnory, Stamp