Spectator on facebook

Spectator on facebook


EU to create 13 military units

DEFENCE ministries of all the European Union member countries approved the establishment of 13 small rapid deployment military units, the TASR news agency wrote.

Dutch Defence Minister Henk Kamp, whose country holds the EU presidency until the end of the year, made the announcement during negotiations in Brussels November 22.

The first unit is due to be ready next year and others in 2007. The units will consist of approximately 1,500 soldiers capable of combat within five to ten days of receiving a summons.

Slovakia will create a unit together with Germany, Poland, Lithuania and Latvia. The Slovak Deputy Defence Minister Martin Fedor signed the agreement.

Great Britain, France, Italy, and Spain will create their own units, according to TASR. All other units will consist of soldiers from several countries.

The EU units will be compatible with similar NATO units.

Top stories

Kiska stays away from parliamentary politics

President Kiska has dispersed all questions surrounding his future in politics before Easter, when he announced he was not planning to run for parliament.

Andrej Kiska does not want to walk down the path of party politics.

Danko’s office opens MPs’ letters

OĽaNO wants Danko to step down as parliament’s speaker after what they call an unprecedented measure.

Igor Matovič (l) and Ján Budaj (r)

Train travel to Košice via south to return

The Transport Ministry will restore the operation of fast trains on the southern route as of June.

Government ignores anticorruption demands Photo

Protesters gave the government two weeks to fulfil their demands.