THIS postcard dating back to 1911 shows a unique view of the basilica in Šaštín, in the western region of Záhorie. The basilica is shown from the back, rather than the front. On the left is an inn with a notice board that identifies it as a Vendéglő – Hostinec – Gasthaus. During the monarchy, every sign was required to be trilingual.
Šaštín frequently received pilgrims, and the inn's owner, Josef Marlep, made a fortune from them.
However, only a few of the pilgrims were lucky enough to be put up at the inn. Most of them spent the night under the open sky and some slept in the basilica itself.
The construction of the two-tower basilica, which is dedicated to St. Mary of the Seven Sorrows, started in 1736. It was completed and consecrated in 1764, with Empress Maria Theresa and Francis of Lorraine in attendance.
To this day, Šaštín still attracts believers wishing to worship St. Mary of the Seven Sorrows.
30. Jun 2008 at 0:00 | By Branislav Chovan