The lookout tower at the ruins of Katarínka, near Dechtice, is open daily from 10 to 17:00 during the summer holiday thanks to the volunteers who care for the tower, which is part of the former Church of Saint Katarina Alexandrijska. Entrance to 30-metre high tower is possible only with a guide.
Last year, about 3,000 visitors came to wander around the spectacular environment. The tower is rarely accessible outside of the summer holiday and completely closed in the winter.
Peter Herceg from the citizens’ association Katarinka came up with the idea of reconstructing in 2000. The tower only had perimeter walls with eroded stability, so that was the first problem to solve.
Volunteers cooperated with preservationists, so they succeeded in building an exact replica of stairs in the tower.
Visitors can reach the ruins of Katarínka by turning between Naháč and Dechtice and travelling the last part of the road by foot.
The monastery of Saint Katarina Alexandrijska was established in 1618 and belonged to Franciscans. The tower was built about 100 years later. In 1786, the monastery was closed and became dilapidated after the monks left.
30. Jul 2018 at 13:46 | TASR, Compiled by Spectator staff