UPDATED: Slovakia responds to the Omicron variant. All incomers from select countries will have to self-isolate

All flights to and from seven African countries have been cancelled until at least mid-December.

Illustrative stock photoIllustrative stock photo (Source: AP/TASR)

All incomers from countries struggling with the Omicron variant will have to self-isolate after arriving in Slovakia from December 1, regardless of their vaccination status.

The change will concern people who in the past 14 days have visited these countries:

Skryť Remove ad
Article continues after video advertisement
Skryť Remove ad
Article continues after video advertisement

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Incomers from these countries will have to self-isolate for 14 days. They can spend this time either at home or in a quarantine facility. Everybody living in the same household needs to stay in the isolation, regardless of their vaccination status or whether they have recently recovered from Covid.

Those in self-isolation can end it sooner if they receive two negative PCR test results. The first test can be taken one day after the arrival, and the second the eighth day after the arrival.

How to travel to and from Slovakia during COVID-19 Read more 

Children younger than 12 years do not have to get tested. Their self-isolation ends on the same day as it does for seniors living in the same household.

If the person in self-isolation has symptoms, their doctor should decide when their self-isolation will end.

Those who arrive from the aforementioned countries before December 1 should contact the Public Health Authority (ÚVZ) via the special email address (omikron@uvzsr.sk) and state their name, surname, phone number and the district where they are currently staying. They will be subsequently contacted by their respective regional public health office.

Incomers from countries where Omicron was confirmed asked to report to authorities Read more 

Flights stopped for now

Meanwhile, Slovakia stopped civilian flights to and from seven African countries, namely Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe on November 27 at midnight.

The ban is in place until December 13 for now, the Transport Ministry informed the public.

Read more about the coronavirus developments in Slovakia:

Top stories

News digest: Omicron not prevailing yet, but new measures will be applied

New rules come into force tomorrow. Some flights from Košice suspended. Train carrier will not dispatch dozens of trains.

12 h
Entry conditions change as the Omicron wave is set to arrive in Slovakia.

UPDATED: Booster dose opens way to vast benefits. These are Slovakia's measures against Omicron (Q & A)

The new OP+ regime grants benefits to people with three doses or a combination of vaccine and recovery from Covid. Rules should apply all through the wave, government promises.

17. jan
Foreign Affairs Minister Ivan Korčok (left) and Defence Minister Jaroslav Naď (right)

Slovak-US defence pact encounters fierce resistance

A planned bilateral defence agreement between NATO allies Slovakia and the US has highlighted once again the sharp divisions that exist in Slovak politics and society over Russia.

18 h
Skryť Close ad