President Ivan Gašparovič on Wednesday, April 4, appointed 13 new cabinet ministers based on a proposal submitted by Prime Minister Robert Fico (Smer), who had been appointed earlier in the day.

The new ministers are as follows: Foreign Affairs Minister Miroslav Lajčák, Finance Minister Peter Kažimír, Defence Minister Martin Glváč, Environment Minister Peter Žiga, Transport Minister Ján Počiatek, Education Minister Dušan Čaplovič, Labour Minister Ján Richter, Agriculture Minister Ľubomír Jahnátek, Justice Minister Tomáš Borec, Economy Minister Tomáš Malatinský, Health Minister Zuzana Zvolenská, Interior Minister Robert Kaliňák and Culture Minister Marek Maďarič.

Kažimír, Kaliňák and Lajčák will also act as deputy prime ministers, the TASR newswire wrote. The current post of deputy prime minister for human rights and minorities is set to be replaced by a new post of deputy premier for economy and investments, which should be filled by former transport minister Ľubomír Vážny. This move will first require a change to the Competences Act, however.

Source: TASR

Compiled by Zuzana Vilikovská from press reports
The Slovak Spectator cannot vouch for the accuracy of the information presented in its Flash News postings.